## LOCAL GOVERNMENT OF CANADA.

constitution, maintenance and organization of provincial courts, with both civil and criminal jurisdiction, as well as the procedure in civil matters in those courts, are retained under provincial jurisdiction.

The exclusive control of each province over the subject of education has given rise to legal and constitutional questions of the highest importance. Their adjustment has engaged the attention of legislatures, of parliament and of the courts of Canada as well as the privy council of the Mother Country from time to time almost since the day of the union. The meeting of provincial responsibilities in this matter has demanded great expenditures and called forth administrative capacity and devotion to scholarship and to the welfare of the young which the people of the provinces may consider with pride and satisfaction.

The provinces have also legislated upon, and devoted large sums of money to the promotion of agriculture, and to some extent immigration in which they have been assisted by the federal administration, which also has jurisdiction over these subjects. These powers are of

course common to all the provinces.

## NOVA SCOTIA.



THIS province has made no organic changes in its constitution since the union in 1867. In 1867, the Legislative Council consisted of 36 members and the Legislative Assembly of 55 members. The number of members of the Legislative Council is now 21 and of the Assembly 43. Legislative councillors are appointed for life, and the members of the Assembly are elected for four years, the Assembly term consisting of that period. The constitutional relations of the ministry to the Assembly are based on the well recognized principles of

responsible government in accordance with which the ministry retains office only so long as it is supported by a majority in the Legislative Assembly. This rule applies to all the provinces of Canada. Many efforts made towards abolishing the Legislative Council in Nova Scotia have proved abortive. The local ministry or cabinet, styled the Executive Council, consists of the Prime Minister (being the Provincial Secretary and President of the Council), the Attorney-General and the Commissioner of Works and Mines. These are salaried officials, and the other members are six in number without office. Agriculture, immigration and education are under the control and management of the government through certain boards and councils, each with its secretary and staff of officials.

The sources of the principal revenues are (1) mines and minerals upon which certain royalties are charged, together with license fees and rentals; (2) the federal subsidy and interest on balances due from the Dominion, paid by virtue of the British North America Acts; (3) interest on railway loans and advances, succession duties, payments from the Dominion Government under the Agricultural Instruction